Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image
search button
Choose country    |    For professionals    |    Contact
change font size

Degrees and shapes of hearing loss

How severe is your hearing loss? That depends on which levels of sound you can hear. Your hearing professional will chart these levels on an audiogram in order to determine your degree of hearing loss. Hearing loss is generally classified in seven degrees: normal, slight, mild, moderate, moderately severe, severe, and profound.

Your hearing professional will take into account your degree and type of hearing loss when recommending a type of hearing aid. Each person has a unique type and level of hearing loss, and some hearing aids may work better for you than others.

Shapes of hearing loss

Your hearing may be limited to one ear or affect both. There are four configurations of hearing loss that you could be experiencing.
  • Bilateral vs. unilateral – Bilateral involves hearing loss in both ears, while unilateral hearing loss is only in one ear
  • Symmetrical vs. asymmetrical – Symmetrical means that your level and type of hearing loss is the same in both ears. Asymmetrical means that your ears have different types or levels of hearing loss
  • Progressive vs. sudden hearing loss – Progressive hearing loss gets worse over time, while sudden hearing loss happens spontaneously – like after being exposed to a very loud noise. See a medical professional immediately if you think you may have sudden hearing loss
  • Fluctuating vs. stable hearing loss – Fluctuating hearing loss can get better or worse over time, while stable hearing loss will stay the same

Get professional help today

Take action on your hearing loss, or the hearing loss of a loved one today.
Click the button below or contact your local Widex office


Hearing aid types
The choice of hearing aid depends on the type of hearing loss, the shape of the individual ear canal and to some extent the user´s own individual preferences.

See which hearing aid types Widex offers.